Arundel Castle & Gardens

Photos

The Garden

Welcome to Arundel Castle & Gardens - Ancient Castle, Stately Home & Gardens.

Set high on a hill in West Sussex, this great Castle commands the landscape with magnificent views across the South Downs and the River Arun.

Founded at the end of the 11th Century, it has been the family home of the Dukes of Norfolk and their ancestors for nearly 1000 years.

The grounds, together with the keep and gatehouse, have been open to visitors since 1800 and the gardens since 1854.

Today the stunning and inspirational walled gardens include the internationally renowned  Collector Earl’s GardenThe Stumpery; the hot and cool Herbaceous Borders with contrasting foliage plants; and the Cut Flower Garden and  Organic Kitchen Garden that supply the Castle with fresh fruit, vegetables and cut flowers.

A rare lean-to peach house and vinery, originally built in 1850 by Clarke & Hope, has been restored to its former glory and houses exotic fruit and vegetables.

The sheltered location of the gardens makes it possible for many of the tender perennials such as Cannas, Salvias, Bananas and Palms to remain in the ground throughout the winter. 

The Fitzalan Chapel has its own delightful garden planted charmingly in white, and there is also the Rose Garden, in what was once a Medieval bowling green, which has been newly planted with old-fashioned English roses.

View Map

The Gardener

Martin Duncan is the Head Gardener.

Map

Garden Details

Address
Arundel Castle & Gardens, Arundel, West Sussex, England, BN18 9AB
Email
visits@arundelcastle.org
Phone
01903 882173 (+44 1903 882173)
Contact Person
Castle Manager - Bryan McDonald - bryan.mcdonald@arundelcastle.org
Website:
Hours
Arundel Castle & Gardens and The Collector Earl’s Garden will be open from Good Friday 25 March to Sunday 30 October 2016, Tuesdays to Sundays inclusive, Bank Holiday Mondays and August Mondays.
Price
http://www.arundelcastle.org/plan-a-visit/admission-prices.html
Brochure Available?
Yes - to download a Castle leaflet please visit www.arundelcastle.org "Plan your Visit"

For details of guide books and other publications please email Libby Dulake - libby.dulake@arundelcastle.org
Parking
There are designated Blue Badge parking spaces in the Arundel town car park in Mill Road opposite the main Castle gates. Please note that parking charges apply. Initial slope from Castle Gates to Castle, Gardens & Grounds.
Cafe/Resaurant Available
The Arundel Castle Coffee Shop is open 10.00am - 4.30pm (closed Mondays)
We offer a full range of refreshments to tempt and delight our visitors including a selection of hot and cold beverages, light lunches, cakes and pastries.

The Arundel Castle Restaurant is open to Castle visitors 10.00am - 4.30pm (Closed Mondays)
Relax and enjoy some welcome refreshments in the original Castle Servants’ Hall where you will discover our licensed counter service Castle Restaurant.
We offer a full range of refreshments to tempt and delight our visitors including a selection of hot and cold beverages, light lunches, cakes and pastries.
Wheelchair Access
The Castle is built on a hill and there are some steep stairs and narrow passages, which can make mobility difficult. About 2/3 of the Castle interior is accessible to wheelchairs, subject to some width limits – please see below.
A passenger buggy is available in the grounds – please enquire at the Ticket Office.
Please visit the National Disabled Access Guide – Arundel Castle at www.disabledgo.info for independent information about accessibility at Arundel Castle
Dogs Allowed
We regret that only Registered Assistance Dogs are permitted into the Castle grounds.
Children Allowed
For the safety of all of our visitors and staff, and for conservation and insurance reasons - please note that bicycles, roller skates, inline skates, skateboards, scooters, etc. are not permitted into, or allowed to be used in the Castle, grounds and gardens
Weddings
We regret that we do not offer facilities for wedding ceremonies, wedding catering or pre-wedding and wedding photography.
Plants/Other Sales
In the Castle Shop in the old Castle kitchens you will discover a wide and interesting range of gift ideas for everyone. There is easy access for wheelchair users and pushchairs and our friendly staff are always on hand to welcome and to advise you.

At Arundel Castle we pride ourselves on supporting local suppliers wherever possible and actively encourage environmentally friendly products.
Guided Tours
For groups of at least 20, Guided Tours can be arranged during the morning before the main Castle rooms are open to visitors (10.30 to 11.45), and at other times by application in advance.
Other Facilities
There are nearly 1,000 years of history at this great castle, situated in magnificent grounds overlooking the River Arun in West Sussex and built at the end of the 11th century by Roger de Montgomery, Earl of Arundel. The oldest feature is the motte, an artificial mound, over 100 feet high from the dry moat, and constructed in 1068: followed by the gatehouse in 1070. Under his will, King Henry I (1068-1135) settled the Castle and lands in dower on his second wife, Adeliza of Louvain. Three years after his death she married William d'Albini II, who built the stone shell keep on the motte. King Henry II (1133-89), who built much of the oldest part of the stone Castle, in 1155 confirmed William d'Albini II as Earl of Arundel, with the Honour and Castle of Arundel.